Linux users on Apple machines: how to find the system product name of your Mac

Here’s another nugget I’m dropping in the hopes it’ll get indexed, because I have a hell of a time remembering how to find my Apple Mac type in Linux (where by type I mean things like “Macbook4,1” or “iMac6,1” and the like). Finding the exact model of Mac you’re running is often useful when debugging the all-too-frequent rough edges of Linux running on a Mac.

Be advised, I’ve only tested this in Linux Mint. I expect it will probably work fine in Ubuntu and likely Debian.

In Terminal or on the command line, to find what model Mac you’re running Linux on, simply run

sudo dmidecode -s "system-product-name"
Leave a Reply

